De Waterkant Civic Association

De Waterkant village is a cosmopolitan precinct nestled between the sea, the mountains and downtown Cape Town. Quaintly historic streets are juxtaposed against an extraordinary vibrancy; fun restaurants and some great shopping are just a block away from homes where people quietly go about their daily lives.
The De Waterkant Civic Association (DWCA) was set up in 1975 to promote and safeguard the interests of all those who live in, or are otherwise invested in, this uniquely beautiful and historic part of Cape Town. Its management committee (MC), elected anew every year, consists of volunteers from the community.
The MC plays an oversight, guidance and support role for the DWCA. It handles the DWCA’s bureaucratic needs, such as formal registrations, organising and minuting meetings, maintaining communications, attending related forums, banking, communicating with the City on public events, and so on.
DWCA members can turn to the MC for help when it comes to things like finding out City processes and protocols, and – in the case of disputes, queries or other needs – they can be given access to the DWCA’s contact book, which the MC keeps up to date by staying abreast of who’s who in the public sector.

 

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST:

Click HERE to join our community mailing list to receive general area updates including meeting information and newsletters.

 

FACEBOOK GROUP:

Click HERE to join our facebook page

 

CONTACT US VIA POST:

Written correspondence can be emailed to the relevant portfolio email as listed below, or posted to DWCA, Suite 61, Dixon Street, De Waterkant, 8001

 

Public Meeting Dates:

All meetings take place at 18h00. Venue will be advertised via email on and on the Facebook page, prior to the meetings.

  • June 2018: Tuesday 5th June 2018
  • September 2018: Tuesday 4th September 2018
  • December 2018: Tuesday 4th December 2018
  • March 2019: Tuesday 5th March 2019
  • AGM: Tuesday 26th March 2019

 

THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR 2018/19

Sub-Committee                                                Contact Person                             Email Address

Chairman Ian McMahon chair@dwca.co.za
Secretary, Communication & IT
Mark Wuger & Garth Psaradelis communication@dwca.co.za
Treasurer Gary De Klerk & Ian McMahon treasurer@dwca.co.za
Membership & Community Mark Wuger & Burger Viljoen membership@dwca.co.za
Built Environment Garth Psaradelis, Deon Redman & Gary De Klerk environment@dwca.co.za
City & Civic Liaison Annelien Loots city@dwca.co.za
Events, Film, Noise & Liquor
Gary de Klerk. Ian McMahon & Deon Redman liquor@dwca.co.za
Streets, Parking & Traffic Deon De Wet, David Adams & Ian McMahon urban@dwca.co.za
Safety, Cleaning & Parks
David Adams, Burger Viljoen & Deon De Wet community@dwca.co.za
Legal Council
Helet Merkling legal@dwca.co.za

CONSTITUTION:

DWCA Constition can be found by clicking HERE